Big Day

I come out at work tomorrow morning, 10:00 am ET.  And shortly thereafter I will be making the announcement with the rest of my programming team.

We’re called the “BusWare team.”  BusWare is the app that runs on buses; operates all the bells, whistles and lights; and monitors a bunch of things like engine performance, and passengers coming and going.  It’s a HUGE project with thousands upon thousands of files.  I’m proud to be a team member.

I figure the speech will go something like this:

Hello.  I’ve called you all here.  No, really.  I arranged this meeting.  Don’t worry.  It’ll be quick.

(Take a breath.)
For as long as I can remember I have suffered from a condition that constantly puts me under tremendous stress.  I have finally reached a point where I can’t deny it or hold it back any longer.

I am transgender.  (Wait for a few seconds.)

My body is as you see but my mind has always been female.  Thus the constant stress of looking one way and feeling another.

Last October I started my transition.  That means I am actively working to change my body to be as female as I can possibly make it.  I hope the changes are starting to show.

If you are willing, please call me Rachael.  But I will not take offense to Bob.

Questions?  (Answer if any are asked.)

If anyone ever wants to talk privately, please feel free to grab me.  It takes a lot to upset me and I’m very willing to share what I know.

If any of this upsets you, please feel free to get Ziad and/or HR involved.  They all know what’s going on.

Well, that’s it.

Thanks for your time.

Maybe I should get a “Hello, my name is…” sticker and slap it on my chest for the rest of the day.

After tomorrow the only person in my life hopefully oblivious to my transition is James.

 

 

Leave a Reply

